The Rouge-Cloître, a place for walking and a gateway to the Soignes forest, is an architectural, forestry and natural complex of great wealth! It's an ancient bucolic site at the gates of the city! The site might owe its name to the colour of the plaster that covered the walls of the priory buildings, occupied since the second half of the 14th century by monks of the Order of Saint Augustine. The estate was once surrounded by a wall, which remains today. The remains of the priory and its outbuildings are still visible today. Today, the site is home to various organisations: the Art Centre, the Théâtre de la Parole, non-profit organisation Cheval et Forêt, the Jardin des Moines and artists' studios. Two large ponds are still used for fishing, the other three are used as a nature reserve. The Rouge-Cloître site has one of the largest and most modern playgrounds in the Brussels-Capital Region and a health trail. Not far from there, discover the Jean Massart experimental botanical garden, whose living collections are used for research and educational purposes.
- Playgrounds (3-6 years and 6-12 years)
- Health trail
- Informative signage
The site is accessible to persons with reduced mobility, as long as they are accompanied.
The Rouge Cloître
Location: Rue du Rouge-Cloître, 7, 1160 Auderghem